Protect Yourself
from Domain Name Scams WARNING
"EU Registry Services" - Cambridge WARNING
"Domain Registry Services" - Cambridge What should you do? WARNING
"Domain Update Center" and "Domain Listing Center Inc" - USA Simply delete these messages, they are just
trying to trick you into buying additional domain names or services for existing
domain names through them.
WARNING
"Domain Registry of America"
(also called "Domain Registry of Canada")
A company calling itself "Domain Registry of
Canada" or "Domain Registry of America" is targeting domain name
owners to transfer their domains by renewal.
They are a reseller who use the following ICANN accredited registrars:
eNom Inc. (eNom.com)
Brandon Gray Internet Services, Inc. (NameJuice.com)
They obtain contact information through the publicly accessible WHOIS
database, and send renewal notices through regular mail in an envelope and on
stationary intentionally designed to look like an official renewal notice.
You absolutely SHOULD NOT remit any payments
to "Domain Registry of Canada"/"Domain Registry of America"
in order to renew your domain. If you have registered your domain with us then
you should renew your domain with us. You may transfer your domain to another
company at any time, however this should be the company of YOUR
choice.
If you have already made a payment to this company, we suggest contacting your
bank or credit card company and ask for the payment to be stopped or reversed.
" Domain Registry of America" have already had a court injunction
against them with regard to domain name reselling.
A company calling itself "EU Registry
Services" is sending out letters regarding domain names with upcoming
renewals. The letters are entitled "DOMAIN EXPIRATION NOTICE" and are
blatantly misleading, urgently requesting domain owners to "renew
immediately to ensure service continues uninterrupted".
The letter has a tear-off slip at the bottom
for you to detach and send with your cheque. Under no circumstances should you
send any payment to these people. This is a blatant scam, intended to mislead.
"EU Registry Services" have already received attention from the
Advertising Standards Authority regarding a misleading claim over .eu domains
Another company is sending out very similar notices to "EU Registry
Services" but under the name "Domain Registry Services". Could
they be the same company? We think the answer is probably yes.
Again this is a blatant scam, intended to mislead, so
please ignore these letters.
Should you receive ANY unsolicited email or postal notices from ANY company
regarding your domain registration, please:
A company is sending out very official-looking notices to containing the words
"FlNAL NOTlCE".